In February 2018, The Smoker underwent a £750,000 refurbishment to transform the 400-year-old, iconic thatched coaching inn situated in the village of Plumley.
With its roaring fires and new décor, the inn offers a warm and welcoming environment. There is a full range of cask ales and beers, a large selection of wines, and an extensive menu, along with daily specials.
The pub has plenty of parking along with gardens and patio areas to enjoy a drink or meal during the warmer months.
The Smoker first opened its doors in 1597, a year when William Shakespeare’s ‘The Tempest’ was first performed and the King James Bible was published for the first time in London.
The only pub in Britain called The Smoker, it was named after Smoker, a smoky-coloured charger owned by the first Lord de Tabley, who raised the Cheshire Yeomanry against the threat from Napoleon. The horse was bred as a racehorse by the Prince Regent. Racing calendars from 1790 and 1793 show that Smoker won 12 of his 19 races and was only unplaced twice.
SatNav: WA16 0TY
10 miles, 18 minutes from The Bostock Estate