Renovation and Conservation
By 1796, James France-Hayhurst had inherited the Estate and it was home to the family until the early 1950s when it was sold to Manchester City Council.
P J Livesey redeveloped the site in 1998/99, refurbishing the mansion into six apartments, the impressive estate buildings into homes, and introduced new accommodation within the Walled Garden and The Courtyard. Platts Hall was later transferred to the Estate from its original site in the former ICI Lostock Plant.
Today the stunning country estate houses 67 individual properties and is owned and managed by its residents.
"In a world dominated by mass production it can often seem as though the real quality and craft of building and architecture have been left behind."
J P Livesey